Monday, July 28, 2014

Darkness Falls: Reveler Series by Erin Kellison

AnnMarie's Reviews

Book Review Corner
Darkness Falls by Erin Kellison
(Reveler Series – Book 1)


Agent Malcolm Rook is hunting for people with the rarest of talents—the ability to master dreams. He finds the undeniably gifted Jordan Lane, but she’s wary of mysterious Rook and resists his pursuit as long as she can. Yet the dreamwaters they enter are too exhilarating to resist, and attraction soon ignites electric passions. Delving too deep stirs a nightmare, one they must defeat, or be forever lost to darkness.


I fell in LOVE with Erin Kellison after being introduced to her 'Shadow Series' 2 years ago, so I was pretty excited to read a new series from her. The Reveler Series did not disappoint. As a novella series, I knew that I would fly through each book, so I decided to wait a little while before starting them. With 4 books in the series out now, I thought that it would be a good time to start. Well, in just 2 days I have completed the first two books and have already started reading the third.

Darkness Falls is a short and easy read, but still full of action, adventure, fantasy and romance. Of course I wanted more, I always want more, especially with novellas. But, knowing that the story was a novella I expected it to be short. Still, the idea of shared dreaming, the potential for danger, the unmistakable and irresistible pull of attraction and chemistry were all present. Kellison is known for creating and developing characters that you love, and then jumping between the heads of the two destined to fall in love in her books. I love her concept of following two characters, and introducing others along the way, who will eventually be the star of their own love connection in a future installment. Knowing all that, I was not surprised that she continued her formula here, albeit on a novella series rather than a full length novel series.

In Darkness Falls, we learn about RĂ©ve, a way to share dreams and fantasy with other dreamers, yet there are things that are not well-known or understood to the general population about the process. Further, there are people that share unique talents or abilities beyond the norm within the 'dreamwaters,' there are monsters lurking about where they shouldn't, inside and outside the dreamwaters, and although the story is just beginning for Jordan and Rook, it also seems to come to an end rather quickly. However, Kellison does not just leave those characters out in the cold. They are sure to appear in the future installments of the Reveler series, as Kellison has a knack for keeping her lovable characters around.

My Recommendation for Darkness Falls: If you are looking for something different, yet a quick and easy read, this book is a good fit. This Novella series is written more like episodes, meaning that questions will not all be answered in each book, yet there are more just around the corner. Kellison is the author that keeps on giving because she continues to produce books within her worlds, so you are just left hanging wondering what happens next. The Reveler series is not all released at once, yet the books have come out close enough together to make the short wait between installments worthwhile. Plus, this book is FREE right now, so what are you waiting for?



I give this title 5 out of 5 stars!

No comments:

Post a Comment